Penn State Mont Alto Awards Ceremony Graphic

Penn State Mont Alto Students Recognized during Annual Awards Ceremony

The Penn State Mont Alto campus held its annual Academic and Leadership Awards Ceremony on Sunday, April 19.

Eighty-eight students were recognized for their academic achievements and campus leadership during the 2019-20 academic year.

Three faculty members and one staff member were also recognized for their above-and-beyond contributions to the learning environment at Penn State Mont Alto.

The event, normally held in the campus’ Multipurpose Activities Center, was conducted online due to COVID-19, but the virtual settling didn’t diminish the celebration as more than 100 families connected to take part in the event.

“The Academic and Leadership Awards is my favorite annual event,” said Curtis Hoover, director of Student Affairs at Mont Alto. “During the current pandemic, it is more important than ever for us to continue to celebrate and honor the successes of our students; while the format may change, it is important that our traditions continue.”

That sentiment was shared by Penn State Mont Alto Chancellor Francis K. Achampong in his opening remarks when he told the students, “Coronavirus was not going to stop us from recognizing your accomplishments.”

Among the campus’ most prestigious awards presented were:

The Eric A. and Josephine Walker Award for Outstanding Student Leadership was presented to Santiago Morillo.

Chancellor’s Award was presented to Jacie Buller.

The Marty Ogle Student-Athlete of the Year Award was presented to Madison Shirley, Quentin Flemister, Nickolas Kostyak.

Outstanding Veteran Award was presented to Ben Cai.

Student Organization of the Year was presented to the Commuter Student Association.

Student Organization Adviser of the Year was presented to Marla L. Minnich.

The Martha A. Fisher Award for Excellence in Teaching (full time) was presented to Assistant Teaching Professor Craig Houghton, M.F., Forestry.

The Martha A. Fisher Award for Excellence in Teaching (part time) was presented to  Nursing Instructor Jane Oyler.

The Student Government Award for Excellence in Advising was presented to Assistant Professor Barrett Scroggs, Ph.D., Human Development and Family Studies.

Congratulations to all this year’s winners.

Chancellor’s Award

Jacie Buller

2020 President Sparks Award

Lacey Hykes
Emma Shepler
Allison Wolf

2020 President’s Freshman Award

Kara Cook
Matthew Gelhard
Kylee Gooding
Nickolas Kostyak
Hannah Lowman
Katelyn Smith
Kyra Thomas

Academic Achievement in Baccalaureate Nursing Program

Kaitlyn Boyer
Molly Nowell
McKensey Hartsock
Chelsea Danner

Academic Achievement in Bachelor of Science in Business

James Chappell
Garrett Gordon
Dominique King

Academic Achievement in Engineering

Simon Egolf
Sarah Lininger
Logan Rockwell

Academic Achievement in Forest Technology

Josiah Chapman

Academic Achievement in Health Policy and Administration

Lacey R. Hykes

Academic Achievement in College of Liberal Arts

Colin Hanzlik

Academic Achievement in Music

Taylor Cannon
Elizabeth Holtry
Elizabeth Parsons
Kelby Schwender

Academic Excellence in the Associate Degree in Human Development and Family Studies

Alexis Paige Parks
Diane Peck

Academic Excellence in the Baccalaureate Degree in Human Development and Family Studies

Sierra L. Hassinger
Andrea M. Peckman

Academic Excellence in the Baccalaureate Degree in Psychology

Karley M. Coleman
Melissa Metcalfe

AUPHA Foster McGaw Award

Tyler Eyer

College of Agricultural Sciences Alumni Award

Gavin Brumbaugh

Alternative Spring Break

Savannah Randolph

Chess Club

Aiden Shah

Commuter Student Association

Cara Burgan

Division of Undergraduate Studies Academic Excellence

Mason Barner
Courtney Ledgard

Evan Pugh Award

Michael Fignar
Andrea M. Peckman

HDFS / Psychology Club

Amanda Moore

InterVarsity Christian Fellowship

Danessa Myers

Lion Ambassadors

Anna Genda
Raylee Gibbons
Katie Hutzell
Jacob Zeigler

Love Your Melon

Alexis Angle

Marty Ogle Student Athlete of the Year 2020

Madison Shirley
Quintyn Flemister
Nick Kostyak

Mont Alto Associate Degree Scholastic Award

Christopher Sabol

Mont Alto Baccalaureate Degree Scholastic Award

Ryan King

Occupational Therapy Assistant Academic Achievement Award

Olivia Feaster
Kelly Harbaugh
Alexandra Holtry
Kimberly Kohn
Rebecca Neff
Megan Shockey

Outstanding Honors Student

Amanda Moore

Outstanding Achievement BA in Letters, Arts and Sciences

Allison Meyers

Outstanding Achievement in Science

Emrakh Ibragimov
Aiden Shah
Haedyssa Harvey

Outstanding Student in the College of Agricultural Sciences

Brooke Stoneham

Physical Therapy Assistant Academic Award

Casey Goodrich
Adelyn Uffelman
Christine Walter
Morgan P. Wonders

Outstanding Student Veteran

Ben Cai

Peer Mentors

Cara Burgan
Amber Fickes
Jacob Zeigler

Penn State Mont Alto Benefiting THON

Cortney Group
Keighley Taylor

Project TEAM: College Leadership Program

Tyler Berger
Rozzalyn Monnin

Penn State Mont Alto Cheer and Dance Team Spirit of Leadership Award

Angelina Guntert

Resident Assistants

Andrea Bonilla Péna
Angelina Guntert
Santiago Morillo

Sexuality and Gender Alliance SAGA Club

Tyler Berger

Student Nurses Association of Pennsylvania (SNAP) Leadership Award

Ariana Garcia

Student Fee Allocation Committee Members

Andrea Bonilla Péna
Alex Benedict
Tyler Berger
Jacie Buller
Angelina Guntert
Orion Kimberly
Natalia Molina
Rozzalyn Monnin
Amanda Moore
Santiago Morillo
Adam Muller
Matthew Musser
Dane O’Donnell
Kirsten Tercek

Student Government Association Executive Board

Kirsten Tercek
Sonja Loewe
Jacob Zeigler
Andrea Bonilla Péna
Rozzalyn Monnin
Orion Kimberly
Brooke Peaco

Student Government Association Outstanding Senator

Jacie Buller

Student Government Association Outstanding Member of the Year

Kirsten Tercek

Student Organization of the Year

Commuter Student Association

Student Organization Advisor of the Year

Marla L. Minnich

Student Veterans Association

Tanner Wetzel

The Eric A. and Josephine Walker Award for Outstanding Student Leadership

Santiago Morillo

Martha A. Fisher Award for Excellence in Teaching Full-Time

Craig T. Houghton

Martha A. Fisher Award for Excellence in Teaching Part-Time

Jane A. Oyler

SGA Award for Excellence in Advising

Dr. Barrett W. Scroggs