Penn State Mont Alto honors students, faculty during Academic Awards Ceremony

Christopher Overdorff

Christopher "Topher" Overdorff receives the Eric A. and Josephine Walker Award for Outstanding Student Leadership from Penn State Mont Alto Director of Student Affairs Andrea Christopher.

Credit: Debra Collins

MONT ALTO, Pa. — Penn State Mont Alto honored students and faculty members achieving academic and teaching excellence during the annual Academic Awards Ceremony in the Multipurpose Activities Center (MAC) on April 2.

View photos from the event.

Student Awards Presentation

Chancellor’s Award — Kyle Evans

Musician's Club — Matthew Brechbill, Patrick Doyle and Jonathan Weber

Academic Achievement in Baccalaureate Nursing Program — William H. Myers III, Mary Shriver and Laura Smith                           

Academic Achievement in RN-to-B.S. Program — Katherine Miller, Echo Plank and Tracy Rockey

Academic Achievement in 2-Year Information Sciences and Technology — Emily Lautenbach

Academic Achievement in Information Sciences and Technology — Dayne Conner, Corbin Starner and Bryton Zook

Leadership in Information Sciences and Technology Program — Derek Reschke and Corbin Starner

Chess Club — Matthew Brechbill

LatinX Club — Kevin Osmin Lizama

Musician’s Club — Matthew Brechbill, Patrick Doyle and Jonathan Weber

Academic Achievement in Physical Therapist Assistant Program — Susan Brubaker and Tara Hood

Lion Ambassadors Outstanding First-year — Kole Michael Barrick

Lion Ambassadors Outstanding Leader — Miranda Buckheit

Academic Achievement in First–year Occupational Therapy Assistant — John Wiesniewski

Academic Achievement in Second–year Occupational Therapy Assistant — Taylor Benedict

Evan Pugh Scholar Award (Junior) — Jenna Rockwell

Evan Pugh Scholar Award (Senior) — Dayne Conner and Cheyenne Myers

Mont Alto Associate Degree Scholastic Award — Brian Darius

Mont Alto Baccalaureate Degree Scholastic Award — Echo Plank

2017 President Sparks Award — Troy Miller and Jason Schaubroeck

2017 President’s Freshman Award — Dylan Black, Christopher Bryan, Abriana Cain, Aubreigh Doran, Tyler Martin, Nathaniel Meyer, Brayden Thomas and Noah Walls

Academic Achievement in the College of Liberal Arts — Elizabeth Fitz

Outstanding Student in the College of Agricultural Sciences — Dillon Gruver and Logan Holland           

Academic Achievement in the College of Education — Alani Austin

Academic Excellence in the Mont Alto Campus Honors Program — Dillon Gruver and Dylan Kleine

Academic Achievement in Supply Chain and Information System — Carlos Pimentel

Outstanding Student in B.A. Letters, Arts, and Sciences — Benjamin Stephey and Gillian Colley

Academic Achievement in the College of Earth and Mineral Sciences — Daniel Watkins

Outstanding Student in the Eberly College of Science — Samantha Deibel and Nathaniel Meyer

Academic Achievement in Forest Technology — Dylan Black and Levi Canon

College of Agricultural Sciences Alumni Society Award — Jeremy Newman       

Student Government Association Senate — Linda Batz, Madison McCallum, Karl Shanoltz and Melizza Zavala Duran

Forestry Club — Jeremy Newman

Division of Undergraduate Studies Academic Excellence Award — Mandy Cook and Navjit Singh   

Resident Assistant of the Year — Dillon Gruver

Environmental Club — Dillon Gruver

Academic Achievement in the College of Engineering — Jordan Brumfield, Patrick Doyle and Noah Walls

InterVarsity Christian Fellowship Club — Alexis N. Smith

CAMP (Campus Activities and Multicultural Programs) — Reagan Klinedinst

Project Team: College — Reagan Klinedinst

THON — Cole Marcus Herzing and Christopher Overdorff

Allies Club — Mariah Boccardi

Excellence in Women’s Studies — Gillian Colley

Outstanding Adult Learner — Renee Lawyer (on-site) and Heather Carbaugh (off-site)

Academic Achievement in Communication — Alexandra Zombro    

Student Veterans Association — Grayson Whistler

Outstanding Student Veteran — Peter Lancaster

Student Nurses Association of Pennsylvania (SNAP) — Kaitlin Christina Ganoe and Hannah Kauffman

Student Activity Fee — Gabrielle Grove, Dillon Gruver, Nicole Halbrendt, Tristin Iannone, Nicole Nygard, Karl Shanoltz and Mary Shriver

Student Government Association— Brent Carpenter, Reagan Klinedinst, Alyssa Munns, Nicole Nygard, Carlos Pimentel, Trishtan Sopko and Melizza Zavala Duran

The Eric A. and Josephine Walker Award for Outstanding Student Leadership — Christopher Overdorff

Faculty Awards Presentation

Martha A. Fisher Award for Excellence in Teaching — John Bardi

SGA Award for Excellence in Advising — Lauraine Hawkins