Penn State Mont Alto students recognized during online awards ceremony

Awards winners graphic with Penn State Mont Alto logo

Penn State Mont Alto Awards Winners

Credit: Penn State

MONT ALTO, Pa. — The Penn State Mont Alto campus held its annual Academic and Leadership Awards Ceremony online on Sunday, April 19.

Eighty-eight students were recognized for their academic achievements and campus leadership during the 2019-20 academic year.

Three faculty members and one staff member were also recognized for their above-and-beyond contributions to the learning environment at Penn State Mont Alto.

The event, normally held in the campus’ Multipurpose Activities Center, was conducted online due to COVID-19, but the virtual setting didn’t diminish the celebration as more than 100 families connected to take part in the event.

“The Academic and Leadership Awards is my favorite annual event,” said Curtis Hoover, director of student affairs at Mont Alto. “During the current pandemic, it is more important than ever for us to continue to celebrate and honor the successes of our students; while the format may change, it is important that our traditions continue.”

That sentiment was shared by Penn State Mont Alto Chancellor Francis K. Achampong in his opening remarks when he told the students, “Coronavirus was not going to stop us from recognizing your accomplishments.”

Among the campus’ awards presented were:

  • The Eric A. and Josephine Walker Award for Outstanding Student Leadership — Santiago Morillo
  • Chancellor’s Award — Jacie Buller
  • The Marty Ogle Student-Athlete of the Year Award — Madison Shirley, Quentin Flemister and Nickolas Kostyak
  • Outstanding Veteran Award — Ben Cai
  • Student Organization of the Year — the Commuter Student Association
  • Student Organization Adviser of the Year — Marla L. Minnich.
  • The Martha A. Fisher Award for Excellence in Teaching (full time) — Assistant Teaching Professor Craig Houghton, forestry
  • The Martha A. Fisher Award for Excellence in Teaching (part time) was presented to nursing instructor Jane Oyler
  • The Student Government Award for Excellence in Advising — Assistant Professor Barrett Scroggs, human development and family studies

Congratulations to all this year’s winners.

Chancellor’s Award

  • Jacie Buller

2020 President Sparks Award

  • Lacey Hykes
  • Emma Shepler
  • Allison Wolf

2020 President’s Freshman Award

  • Kara Cook
  • Matthew Gelhard
  • Kylee Gooding
  • Nickolas Kostyak
  • Hannah Lowman
  • Katelyn Smith
  • Kyra Thomas

Academic Achievement in Baccalaureate Nursing Program

  • Kaitlyn Boyer
  • Molly Nowell
  • McKensey Hartsock
  • Chelsea Danner

Academic Achievement in Bachelor of Science in Business

  • James Chappell
  • Garrett Gordon
  • Dominique King

Academic Achievement in Engineering

  • Simon Egolf
  • Sarah Lininger
  • Logan Rockwell

Academic Achievement in Forest Technology

  • Josiah Chapman

Academic Achievement in Health Policy and Administration

  • Lacey R. Hykes

Academic Achievement in College of the Liberal Arts

  • Colin Hanzlik

Academic Achievement in Music

  • Taylor Cannon
  • Elizabeth Holtry
  • Elizabeth Parsons
  • Kelby Schwender

Academic Excellence in the Associate Degree in Human Development and Family Studies

  • Alexis Paige Parks
  • Diane Peck

Academic Excellence in the Baccalaureate Degree in Human Development and Family Studies

  • Sierra L. Hassinger
  • Andrea M. Peckman

Academic Excellence in the Baccalaureate Degree in Psychology

  • Karley M. Coleman
  • Melissa Metcalfe

AUPHA Foster McGaw Award

  • Tyler Eyer

College of Agricultural Sciences Alumni Award

  • Gavin Brumbaugh

Alternative Spring Break

  • Savannah Randolph

Chess Club

  • Aiden Shah

Commuter Student Association

  • Cara Burgan

Division of Undergraduate Studies Academic Excellence

  • Mason Barner
  • Courtney Ledgard

Evan Pugh Award

  • Michael Fignar
  • Andrea M. Peckman

HDFS / Psychology Club

  • Amanda Moore

InterVarsity Christian Fellowship

  • Danessa Myers

Lion Ambassadors

  • Anna Genda
  • Raylee Gibbons
  • Katie Hutzell
  • Jacob Zeigler

Love Your Melon

  • Alexis Angle

Marty Ogle Student Athlete of the Year 2020

  • Madison Shirley
  • Quintyn Flemister
  • Nick Kostyak

Mont Alto Associate Degree Scholastic Award

  • Christopher Sabol

Mont Alto Baccalaureate Degree Scholastic Award

  • Ryan King

Occupational Therapy Assistant Academic Achievement Award

  • Olivia Feaster
  • Kelly Harbaugh
  • Alexandra Holtry
  • Kimberly Kohn
  • Rebecca Neff
  • Megan Shockey

Outstanding Honors Student

  • Amanda Moore

Outstanding Achievement BA in Letters, Arts and Sciences

  • Allison Meyers

Outstanding Achievement in Science

  • Emrakh Ibragimov
  • Aiden Shah
  • Haedyssa Harvey

Outstanding Student in the College of Agricultural Sciences

  • Brooke Stoneham

Physical Therapy Assistant Academic Award

  • Casey Goodrich
  • Adelyn Uffelman
  • Christine Walter
  • Morgan P. Wonders

Outstanding Student Veteran

  • Ben Cai

Peer Mentors

  • Cara Burgan
  • Amber Fickes
  • Jacob Zeigler

Penn State Mont Alto Benefiting THON

  • Cortney Group
  • Keighley Taylor

Project TEAM: College Leadership Program

  • Tyler Berger
  • Rozzalyn Monnin

Penn State Mont Alto Cheer and Dance Team Spirit of Leadership Award

  • Angelina Guntert

Resident Assistants

  • Andrea Bonilla Péna
  • Angelina Guntert
  • Santiago Morillo

Sexuality and Gender Alliance SAGA Club

  • Tyler Berger

Student Nurses Association of Pennsylvania (SNAP) Leadership Award

  • Ariana Garcia

Student Fee Allocation Committee Members

  • Andrea Bonilla Péna
  • Alex Benedict
  • Tyler Berger
  • Jacie Buller
  • Angelina Guntert
  • Orion Kimberly
  • Natalia Molina
  • Rozzalyn Monnin
  • Amanda Moore
  • Santiago Morillo
  • Adam Muller
  • Matthew Musser
  • Dane O’Donnell
  • Kirsten Tercek

Student Government Association Executive Board

  • Kirsten Tercek
  • Sonja Loewe
  • Jacob Zeigler
  • Andrea Bonilla Péna
  • Rozzalyn Monnin
  • Orion Kimberly
  • Brooke Peaco

Student Government Association Outstanding Senator

  • Jacie Buller

Student Government Association Outstanding Member of the Year

  • Kirsten Tercek

Student Organization of the Year

  • Commuter Student Association

Student Organization Advisor of the Year

  • Marla L. Minnich

Student Veterans Association

  • Tanner Wetzel

The Eric A. and Josephine Walker Award for Outstanding Student Leadership

  • Santiago Morillo

Martha A. Fisher Award for Excellence in Teaching Full-Time

  • Craig T. Houghton

Martha A. Fisher Award for Excellence in Teaching Part-Time

  • Jane A. Oyler

SGA Award for Excellence in Advising

  • Barrett W. Scroggs