Penn State Mont Alto Penn Stater Awards


To annually recognize outstanding service by Mont Alto staff, faculty, and tech service employees


Any Penn State Mont Alto full-time staff, faculty or tech services employee who has been employed at Mont Alto for a period of at least 12 months and has not been the recipient of the Award within the past two academic years


  • Competency in, and enthusiasm for, one’s job
  • Loyalty to the University and the profession
  • Sensitivity to diverse populations
  • An advocate for students to internal and external constituencies                           
  • General contribution to the campus
  • Active participation and leadership
  • Has gone “above and beyond the call of duty” to the campus


The Mont Alto campus places a high value on the creation and maintenance of a productive, diverse, and supportive community.  Therefore, it is appropriate to encourage and recognize outstanding contributions.  Contributions from employees vary greatly in scope, yet each employee has the potential to positively impact the lives of many individuals.  These awards recognize outstanding efforts by individual full-time staff, faculty, and tech services employees.


The awards will be administered by the Chancellor’s office.  The five previous recipients will make up the awards selection committee for each area:  faculty, staff, and tech services.  The chair will be selected each year as new awardees are added to the committees. 

Award nominations will be made via the campus Awards website and each committee will make the final selection.  If a committee member is nominated for the award, they will be excused from the committee and a replacement will be named.


At the beginning of March the Chancellor’s office will announce the Penn Stater Awards and solicit nominees from the campus community.  All Mont Alto campus employees will have an opportunity to nominate a colleague in any department.  The deadline for receiving nominations will be April 1st.  No nominations will be considered after this deadline.  The Chancellor will forward all nominations to the Chairperson of each committee.

The committee’s decision must be limited to one selection or to recommend that no award be given.  The award will be presented to the individual who best meets the criteria as determined by the voting ballot.

Each Awards Selection Committee will notify the Chancellor of its decision on or before April 21st.  Presentation of the awards will be made by the Chancellor at the End-of-Year event in May.  A press release and photo will be sent to the appropriate news media after the announcement.


An individual plaque will be given to each recipient and a centrally-located plaque will be placed on campus.  Each recipient will receive a cash award of $300 and will have a designated parking place of his/her choice in an established lot for one year.


April 2nd

Past Recipients

2017 Tech Service:  Fred Middaugh

Fred shows his skill and ability everyday he comes to work by doing above and beyond what his job requires.  He always comes to work with a big smile and asks anyone he runs into if there is anything he can help them with or do for them.

2017 Staff:  Sher-Ron Laud

As the Associate Director of Student Affairs, Sher-Ron oversees Campus Life, which includes Student Activities and Residence Life. This year was especially challenging, because for most of the year she has been significantly short-staffed.

2017 Faculty:  John Bardi

"Competency" and "enthusiasm" hardly do justice to John Bardi's relationship with his teaching, his discipline, and his life.

Mont Alto Penn Stater Award Recipients
Year Faculty Tech Services Staff
2017 John Bardi Fred Middaugh Sher-Ron Laud
2016 Lauraine Hawkins Judyann Royce Linda Monn
2015 Kendra Wolgast Joshua Beidel Deb Ferguson
2014 Kira Hamman Jared Shelly Deana Clevenger
2013 Peter Linehan Ron Harshman Keith Culbertson
2012 Robin Yaure Shelly Yurkovich Tim Radio
2011 Peter Dendle Kurt Schaich Pam Kauffman
2010 Renee Borromeo Deborah Michalsky Lori Royce
2009 Lauraine Hawkins Rhonda Everett Marla Minnich
2008 Al Mueller Roger Small Deb Ferguson

Nomination Form

All nominations are confidential.

All nominations remain confidential, whether or not you share your name and email address.
Please be sure to share your email address with us if you would like to receive a copy of your nomination.

Sorry - only employees who have been in service to the University for at least 12 months are eligible for nomination for this award.

1 + 5 =
Solve this simple math problem and enter the result. E.g. for 1+3, enter 4.